Carnac - Circuit des alignements

WalkEasy7.21 km1 h 29 minLoop
16 Place de l'Église
56340 Carnac
Duration : 2h Distance : 8 km Difficulty level: Easy Yellow markers n ° 2 - all year long This itinerary will discover some of the Carnac Alignments, one of the most extraordinary megalithic sites in the world. Departure: Place Saint-Cornély, visit the Church dating from the seventeenth century. Go back to the church to join the Museum of Prehistory. 1 Behind the Museum of Prehistory, which has one of the richest prehistoric collections in Europe (information, join the Tumulus of Mont St-Michel by the alley of Pouez Alen. It is a building of colossal proportions, more than 125 m long, 60 m wide and 10 m high. It was built on a natural height in the fifth millennium BC. In addition to its spectacular dimensions (we speak today of "large carnaceen tumulus" to define the large tumulus), exceptional objects have been discovered in its vaults:polished jade axes or variscite and turquoise beads visible today at the Museum of Prehistory of Carnac. On the top is the St Michael's Chapel, rebuilt twice in 1913 and 1925. The women of sailors at sea swept it in the sense that they wanted to see the wind blowing, then prayed at the fountain. Forgiveness takes place in September. Also discover a small ordeal and an orientation table placed on an engraved stele of the Iron Age. Enjoy the panorama: from the peninsula of Quiberon to the Gulf of Morbihan through Belle-Ile-en-Mer and Houat. 2 Follow the path below towards Cloucarnac. See the Menhir Kerluir located in the middle of a field (private land) and a fountain at the exit of the village, restored by the Friends of Carnac. Discover the Kermario Alignments. This menhirs field is 1,200m long and 100m wide and has more than 1,214 menhirs in 10 rows. Drive along the north to join the Alignements du Menec. This set of menhirs is spread over more than 1,165 m long and 100 m wide for 1,236 menhirs in 11 rows.The highest stones reach 4 meters. Guided tours and information are offered by the Center des Monuments Nationaux (go to the House of Megaliths, information 3 Bypass them from the south, cross the village of Menec (see the megalithic enclosure) then from the north. Join the tourist office by Cross Audran passing near the wash and the fountain, then the Tumulus by the fountain St-Michel, devotional fountain in granite paired (eighteenth century).

Your contact

Office de tourisme de la Baie de Quiberon
14 rue de Verdun
56170 Quiberon
Find this route on the Loopi mobile app
Scan the QR code, save it as a favorite, or start the guidance, just enjoy!
Negative elevation (descent): 20 m
Positive elevation (ascent): 21 m

Road surfaces

7.21 km on unknown surface in the Open Street Map database

Office de tourisme de la Baie de Quiberon